Trump announces new travel restrictions for 8 countries

President Trump is replacing his controversial travel ban with a targeted list of restrictions that will enhance vetting for nationals from 8 countries, senior administration officials announced Sunday.

The eight countries on the modified list of countries are Chad, Iran, Libya, North Korea, Somalia, Syria, Venezuela and Yemen.

The officials say these states failed to comply with the U.S. information sharing requirements that aims to make vetting processes stronger.

Iran, Libya, Syria, Yemen and Somalia are part of the president’s initial travel ban, and it has removed its restrictions on Sudan.

An additional four other countries have now been added to the list of states that do not meet the new American vetting requirements including Iraq, North Korea, Chad, and Venezuela.

The officials maintained that the restrictions are based on an objective world wide review, not based on origin or religion.

The proclamation comes on the same day that Trump’s 90-day ban on visitors from six Muslim-majority nations is set to expire.

The order will take effect on October 18. The lifted restrictions on Sudan went into effect with the completion of the president’s signature on the directive.

The White House consulted with officials from the Department of Homeland Security (DHS), the State Department, the Department of Justice, and other government agencies to enact the new security measures.

Some states were denied because of their identity management and information sharing deficiencies, some have substantial terrorist organizations in their region that add to the threat level of admitting their citizens into the U.S., and others have failed to comply whatsoever with the information agreements.

The restrictions are “necessary” and conditions-based with the aim of protecting Americans by having stronger vetting standards, one senior official said.

The officials said an announcement will be coming in next 6 days to inform members of Congress about any changes or modifications to the refugee cap.

Facebook Comments

You May Also Like

SuperWebTricks Loading...
  • :
  • :
error: Content is protected !!