Cyprus enters a two-week ban on flights early Saturday

Cyprus enters a two-week ban on flights from 28 countries, in an effort to halt the spread of coronavirus.

The ban, which includes Britain and Greece, comes into effect from 3 am on March 21 for a 14-day period, an official statement said.

The decree, issued by Yiannis Karousos, Minister of Transport, Communications & Works, concerns the prohibition of flights as of 3.00 am Cyprus time, 21st March 2020 and for a 14-day period, except for those related to the transport of cargo, between the Republic airports’ and the airports of all Member States, including Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway {European Economic Area (EEA)} and Switzerland.

Meanwhile, a total of 548 passengers on four flights from Paphos airport departed for Manchester, Stanstead, Gatwick, Birmingham, UK on Friday. Another flight is due to leave at 10pm on Friday for Manchester.

In another development, 255 Cypriots were repatriated so far and were taken on busses to designated quarantine areas.

The 255 persons arrived at Larnaca Airport from Kiev, Moscow, Athens and Munich.

The last flight to arrive at Larnaca Airport is scheduled for 2130 this evening from Salonica. The charter flight from London’s Heathrow airport carrying around 200 passengers is scheduled to arrive a little later after the ban comes into effect.

Seven hundred persons in Greece and the UK are also expected to be repatriated within the next few days on flights chartered by the Republic of Cyprus


Facebook Comments

You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

SuperWebTricks Loading...
  • :
  • :
error: Content is protected !!