Cypriots elect their new local administration

Cypriots elect their new local administration
Cypriots voted for local administration in elections that were pending for over two years due to the comprehensive reform in the structure of the local administration.

The voter turnout reached 50.5%.

In Nicosia, President of the District Organisation is Constantinos Yiorkadjis who garnered 54% against Andreas Ashiotis. Charalambos Prountzos was elected Nicosia Mayor receiving 56.8% of the total valid ballot papers against Nikos Tornaritis, who received 30.9%.

In the Strovolos municipality, Stavros Stavrinides was elected Mayor with 38.8% of the vote while at the Latsia-Yeri Municipality the new Mayor is Christos Pittaras with 69.3%, while in the Municipality of Lakatamia-Tseri, Fotoula Hadjipapa was re-elected with 50%. In the Municipality of Nicosia-Idalion, the new Mayor is Stavros Hadjiyiannis with 52.9%.

In Limassol District Organisation President is Yiannis Tsouloftas and Mayor is Yiannis Armeftis. Tsouloftas appeared to win the election by a small yet safe margin with 47.9% compared to Vasilis Demetriades who received 43.7%.

In Famagusta District Organisation President is Yiannis Karousos and Ayia Napa Mayor is Christos Zanettos while in Paralimni – Deryneia Giorgos Nikolettos was elected Mayor. Karousos, former Mayor of Ayia Napa and former Minister of Transport, Communications, and Works, secured his election with relative ease. He garnered 54.9% compared to 29.7% for former Mayor of Paralimni, Theodoros Pyrillis.

In Larnaca District Organisation President is Angelos Hadjicharalambous while Andreas Vyras and Iasonas Iasonides were re-elected Mayor and Deputy Mayor. Neofytos Fakontis was elected Deputy Mayor of Oroklini, while Marios Armenis was elected unopposed in Livadia. In the Municipality of Aradippou, Christodoulos Partou was elected Mayor, and Evanthia Savva as Deputy Mayor.

In Paphos, District Organisation President is Charalambos Pittokopitis with a difference of only 38 votes from his rival Costas Constantinou and Fedonas Fedonos was re-elected Mayor with 60.3% against his rival Evros Loizids who secured 39.7%. In the Municipality of East Paphos, Nikos Palios was elected Mayor with 42.93%. In the municipal district of Geroskipou which falls within East Paphos, Andreas Siikkis from the AKEL-EDEK coalition was elected Deputy Mayor with 34.9%. In Timi, Giorgos Polykarpou was elected.


About the author

Related Post

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *