EU countries agree Covid vaccine scheme – excluding Britons

EU countries have agreed to ease summer travel restrictions that will allow fully vaccinated tourists to avoid tests or quarantines – but not British holidaymakers.

People who have been fully vaccinated for 14 days should be able to travel freely from one EU country to another, according to a proposal approved by ambassadors from the 27 members.

Restrictions for other travellers should be based on the degree to which the country they are coming from has coronavirus infections under control.


                            © Provided by Daily Mail 

Thanks to the spread of the Indian variant, that means the UK is currently off the list of approved countries.

The guidelines come as the EU introduces Covid certificates which will show whether a person is vaccinated, has had the virus or had a recent negative test. The system is set to be ready by July 1, although some countries will launch certificates earlier.

Non-EU members of the Schengen zone, such as Iceland and Norway, will also be able to take advantage of the scheme.


About the author

Related Post

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *